General Information

Situation in the World Nuclear Energy Industry

In 2011, despite a series of cancelled deliveries of uranium production under the contracts with Japanese customers and a reduction in option orders by other contractors, JSC "TECHSNABEXPORT" retained the position of the leading provider of uranium enrichment services for the reactors of western design.

Fukushima accident had a negative impact on the market environment in 2011

The scale and the pace of development of the world nuclear energy industry remain the key factors in shaping the global market for uranium products. In this context the aftermath of the Fukushima NPP accident will definitely have a profound influence on the shaping of the new image of the world nuclear industry and the technical characteristics of the new generation reactors within the next 5-10 years.

In the short-term perspective (one to three years) the national regulatory bodies and the companies that operate NPPs will introduce a range of measures in order to eliminate certain "non-conformities" detected after the stress tests carried out after the accident in Japan.

Despite the fact that in 2011 a number of countries decided to abandon the implementation of previously approved programmes of developing nuclear energy or reduce the share of nuclear energy in the national energy basket, the majority of countries decided to continue developing nuclear energy and systematically improve the international safety standards. Among these are the countries that have already been operating nuclear power plants for long periods of time, as well as the countries that don't yet have NPPs but that realise the lack of alternatives to nuclear energy in the situation where the energy demand is steadily rising, the access to the traditional energy resources is becoming limited and the necessity to tackle environmental problems becomes more urgent.

The fact that these issues are shaping the energy situation in the world – rising population and rising demand for energy, environmental concerns and the dangers of global climate change – remains unchanged and determines an objective need for further development of the world nuclear energy industry and ensuring its safety. This is all the more important amid the competition with the traditional sources of energy (mostly gas), an exponential growth of the alternative energy and extended use of new types of hydrocarbons in certain parts of the world.

613.6

GW
forecast of the total capacity of the world NPPs by 2030


The Global Nuclear Fuel Market Report, published by the World Nuclear Association in September 2011, contains a baseline forecast of the nuclear energy industry development. According to this forecast the total capacity of the world NPPs will increase from 364.4 GW in 2011 to 613.6 GW by 2030. The average annual growth rate of reactor demand for uranium enrichment services during this period will equal 3.2%.

3.2%


forecast of the average annual growth rate of demand for uranium enrichment services during 2011-2030

The increase in the number of NPPs across the world will be achieved through the development the nuclear energy industry predominantly in the Asian region: China (having the highest number of NPPs are under construction at the moment), the United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, Jordan, India, some European countries (the United Kingdom, Finland, Sweden, the Czech Republic, Poland, Lithuania, Belarus), as well as the United States and Russia.

Общие сведения

Ситуация в мировой атомной энергетике

В 2011 году, несмотря на отмену ряда запланированных поставок урановой продукции по контрактам с японскими заказчиками и уменьшение опционных заказов другими контрагентами, ОАО «Техснабэкспорт» сохранило позиции лидирующего поставщика услуг по обогащению урана для реакторов западного дизайна.

Авария на АЭС Fukushima оказала негативное влияние на формирование конъюнктуры рынка в 2011 году

Масштабы и темпы развития мировой атомной энергетики являются определяющим фактором функционирования глобального рынка урановой продукции. В этом контексте последствия аварии на АЭС Fukushima, безусловно, окажут влияние на формирование нового облика мировой атомной энергетики и параметры реакторных установок новых поколений в течение следующих пяти-десяти лет.

В краткосрочной перспективе (один-три года) национальными регулирующими органами и компаниями-операторами АЭС будет осуществлен комплекс мероприятий в целях устранения конкретных «несоответствий», выявленных по результатам проведенных после событий в Японии стресс-тестов.

Несмотря на то, что в 2011 году рядом стран было принято решение об отказе от реализации ранее утвержденных программ развития атомной энергетики или их пересмотре в сторону снижения доли атомной генерации в национальной энергетической корзине, большинство государств подтвердило приверженность дальнейшему развитию атомной энергетики и нацеленность на системное повышение международных стандартов безопасности. К ним относятся как государства, уже эксплуатирующие атомные станции на протяжении длительного периода времени, так и не имеющие пока АЭС страны, осознающие безальтернативность атомной энергетики в условиях возрастающих потребностей в электроэнергии при ограниченном доступе к традиционным энергоресурсам и необходимости решения экологических проблем.

То обстоятельство, что факторы, формирующие энергетическую картину мира: рост населения планеты и потребностей в электроэнергии, обеспокоенность вопросами охраны окружающей среды и опасностью глобального потепления, — остаются неизменными, предопределяет объективную необходимость дальнейшего развития мировой атомной энергетики при безусловном обеспечении ее безопасности. Это особенно важно в условиях конкуренции с традиционными источниками энергии (прежде всего, газом), стремительного роста сегмента альтернативной энергетики и расширенного использования в отдельных регионах мира новых видов углеводородов.

613,6

гвт
прогноз мощности мирового парка АЭС к 2030 году

В опубликованном в сентябре 2011 г. Всемирной ядерной ассоциацией очередном Обзоре мирового рынка ядерного топлива (The Global Nuclear Fuel Market) приведен базовый прогноз развития атомной энергетики, согласно которому установленная мощность мирового парка АЭС должна увеличиться с 364,4 ГВт в 2011 году до 613,6 ГВт к 2030 году. Среднегодовой темп роста реакторных потребностей в услугах по обогащению урана составит в этот период 3,2 %.

3,2 %


прогноз среднегодового темпа роста потребностей в услугах по обогащению урана в период 2011–2030 гг.

Рост мирового парка АЭС будет обеспечен за счет развития атомной энергетики прежде всего в азиатском регионе: Китае (где в настоящее время сооружается наибольшее число АЭС), Объединенных Арабских Эмиратах, Саудовской Аравии, Иордании, Индии; в некоторых европейских странах (Великобритании, Финляндии, Швеции, Чехии, Польше, Литве, Беларуси), а также в США и России.